Answered

Has anyone duplicated a model solely for the 360's and then deleted all scans and done a new model?

I am scanning multiple spaces on a property that will later be connected via mattertags and want to have the outdoor 360's visible in all models - it will also save me from having to rescan in high-traffic areas. Since there's no way to move 360's between models, I had the idea to duplicate the model and then to delete all scan data (keeping the 360's), and then to shoot the new spaces after renaming the model. Good idea? Bad idea? Higher chance of corrupting the file later? Wondering if anyone has tried this before...

0

Comments

3 comments
  • Good idea! @Hopscotchinteractive I have not done this but I will as there have been many times I needed the same 360 scans for another model. The re-upload should be free or discounted until there is a better fix.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I wonder if it would charge you everytime you upload? You could have just found a loophole in the system. I never used 360's before but I am going to try this trick. You want to use it on different models and I will hide them on every model!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I just duplicated a model, removed all the scans, and the tiles for the 360 views are there with a spinny "wait" icon in each one. It's been several minutes. I doubt I'll see the 360s. I can still see them in the original model.

    Matterport claims every model needs at least one 3D scan. If that's true, your method would require a "shared" 3D scan that may not be appropriate for each of the scanned areas you intend to upload.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.