Answered

9/15/16 - Improved collaborator management

Very excited to announce this! Many, many customers have asked us to improve how we handle collaborators, and today's release should make it much easier. You may need to clear your browser's cache to see the new version.

  • Manage invitations. A new “Pending” tab on the Collaborators page that allows you to see who has been sent an invitation, and resend or revoke that invitation as needed.
  • Improved flow for new collaborators. Once you have invited a new Collaborator to join your account, you can enter their information, indicate their default upload folder, and give them permission to view folders and models before they have accepted their invitation.
  • Invitation acceptance confirmation. You will now receive an email letting you know when a Collaborator has accepted an invitation and completed account signup.
  • Restore deleted Collaborators. You can reactivate deleted or “inactive” Collaborators. When reactivated, they will have access only to models they uploaded. Any additional permissions will need to be granted again.

The official announcement will be coming soon, but wanted to tell everyone here first!

More fun stuff soon!

3

Comments

7 comments
  • Fantastic! This was on my wish list!!!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thanks for the kind works, Chris, and glad we could help!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thank you Scott!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Matterport-Scott, I am wanting more information on how the collaborator works. Are they able to see all our work? Is a collaborator able to change everything in all our models, etc. Is there some more information somewhere that explains the pros and cons of allowing a client as collaborator? What if they just want to work and see their own models only, is this possible?

    Thanks, Betty

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Matterport-Scott, I am wanting more information on how the collaborator works. Are they able to see all our work? Is a collaborator able to change everything in all our models, etc. Is there some more information somewhere that explains the pros and cons of allowing a client as collaborator? What if they just want to work and see their own models only, is this possible?

    Thanks, Betty

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Betty,

    Collaborators are only able to see spaces either uploaded with their login, or specifically shared with them.

    One pro of allowing a client to act as a collaborator is that it allows them more control over the final look and feel of the space. It would also allow them to edit the space and in the process save you time. As for a con, i suppose one would be that you would need to manage the creation and distribution of the collaborator logins.

    You could absolutely configure their account such that they would only be able to see their specific spaces.

    Several articles regarding collaborators can be found on at on our support website at the link posted below:

    https://support.matterport.com/hc/en-us/sections/115000737527-Collaborators

    Regards,

    Bob

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thank you!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.