How to copy a Space in Matterport Cloud

Please Note: The Copy a space feature is available to Professional and higher subscription tiers under both Classic and New ASL plans. Click here to learn more about upgrading your cloud plan.

Copy a Space

  1. Log in to your Matterport Cloud account. 
  2. Go to Spaces, find the space you need to copy.
  3. Click the Actions menu to the right, then select ‘Copy Space’:

copyspace.png

4. Click ‘Confirm’ in the opened modal window:

confirm.png

You will see that the selected space copy is processing. This can take some time, depending on the model size.

processing.png

Once the copy has finished processing, you will have a duplicated space with the same  details as in the original space. It will have a ‘(copy)’ added to the title.

Copy feature is free of charge, however, the copied space will count towards the total hosted spaces limit.

Please note: Any blurs applied on the original model or copy after a space is duplicated will reflect on both the original space and its copies.

What is copied

In addition to the matterport space and its details, Mattertags™, measurements, MatterPak™, Blurs will be copied to the duplicated space.

What is not copied

If you have TruePlan™ or Floor Plan assets on the original model, those add-ons will not be copied into the duplicated space. Notes, and camera source information will not be copied as well.

Copy a Space FAQ

Q:  If I copy a space with add-ons, will those assets be copied to the new space?

A:  Only MatterPak™ will be copied over. TruePlan™ and FloorPlan add-ons will not be copied over automatically at this point. You may request the original model owner to share those add-on assets offline. 

Q:  I have a Starter subscription and I don’t see the Copy feature available in my Matterport Cloud account.

A:  Copy a space feature is available to the Professional and higher subscriptions.  To learn how to upgrade your subscription, read this article.

Q:  I have a MatterPak™ add-on downloaded in the space I would like to copy. Will it be copied into the new space?

A:  MatterPak assets will be copied together with space.

Q:  I have TruePlan and Floor Plan add-ons downloaded in the space I would like to copy. Will it be copied into the new space?

A:  TruePlan™ and Floor Plan assets will not be copied into the new space.

Q:  I have a blur in a few places in my space. Will it be copied into the new space?

A:  All blurs done to the original model will be copied into the new space. In addition, blurs applied to the original model (or its copy) after the space was duplicated will be reflected on all the copies and the original model.

Q:  Can a collaborator copy a space?

A:  A collaborator with ‘Edit’ access to the space or an Admin on the account can copy a space.

Q: Can I copy over a space to a different Matterport account?

A:  Yes, you can do it in 2 steps:

  1. Create a copy of the space in your account.
  2. Transfer a space to a different Matterport account.